Gordon Bennett 2024


FAI World „Long Distance“ Gas Balloon Championship
67th Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett
Münster / Germany
12.09. – 22.09. 2024


Gordon Bennett 2024 in the City of Münster

In the fall of 2022, the team of Wilhelm and Benjamin Eimers from the Lower Rhine region won the Gordon Bennett Race. The long-distance world championship in gas ballooning started in St. Gallen, Switzerland. The German team won after a trip to the Black Sea with a distance of 1,572 kilometers ahead of the second-placed team from Thurgau Kurt Frieden and Pascal Witprächtiger with 1550 kilometers. Third place went to the German team of Andreas Zumrode and Axel Hunnekuhl with 1512 kilometers with a landing in Greece. The ballooning nation of Germany won a double podium after a highly exciting competition.

Eighth championship in Germany
The nation of the winning team can host this prestigious world championship for gas balloon pilots the year after next. The 67th Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett will therefore take place in late summer 2024 in the city of Münster, Westphalia. This will be the eighth time that the long-distance world championship has been held in Germany. In 1908, the balloons took off in Berlin and thus for the first time in Germany, followed by 1912 and 1992 in Stuttgart, 1996, 1997 and 2001 in Warstein and 2016 in Gladbeck.

Spreading the fascination of ballooning
The Gordon Bennett 2024 will be a special international event in the city of Münster, Westphalia. The Gordon Bennett has been held 66 times since 1906 and is considered the oldest and most prestigious competition in aviation. A central concern of the organizers is to involve the population. The fascination of aviation and ballooning should be spread to as many people as possible.

What is the Coupe Gordon Bennett?

The Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett, the FAI long-distance world championship for gas balloon pilots, is the oldest and most prestigious event in aviation and the ultimate challenge for pilots. The goal is simple: to cover the greatest distance to the launch site without stopping.

The international competition was initiated by James Gordon Bennett Jr. in 1906, when 16 gas balloons took off from the Jardin de Tuileries in Paris.